PROGRAM

for

The 23rd Anniversary Founder's Day Celebration



Sacred Heart University Fairfield, Connecticut

March 20, 1986

Opening Mr. John J. Kelly

Vice President and Treasurer

Invocation

Father William F. Sangiovanni Director, Chaplains and Campus Ministry

Greeting and Presentation of Awards

Dr. Thomas P. Melady President, Sacred Heart University

Formal Greetings

The Honorable Thomas W. Bucci Mayor of Bridgeport

Citation and Presentation of The Walter W. Curtis Medal

Dr. Anthony V. Pinciaro Academic Vice President and Provost

Ceremony of Conferral
The Most Reverend Walter W. Curtis, STD
Bishop of Bridgeport

Transmittal of Citation

Mr. John M. Kelly President, Student Government

Remarks

Dean John A. Croffy
Vice President and Dean of Students

Annual Dr. William H. Conley Lecture

Dr. Michael L. Usdan President, Institute for Educational Leadership, Inc.

Benediction

The Most Reverend Walter W. Curtis

Closing Mr. John J. Kelly

CITATION

The man whom we honor today has served Sacred Heart University faithfully since it opened its doors in 1963. A founder and the first Dean of Students, Dean Croffy recalls a historic moment in December 1963, when Sacred Heart University received accreditation from the New England Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools:

"I attended the Boston Conference of the Association with Dr. Conley and Dr. O'Sullivan. The joy we felt at the final accreditation — of being accepted by our academic peers — is still one of the

greatest thrills I've experienced here."

John A. Croffy, Vice President and Dean of Students, is more than an administrator — he is counselor, teacher, and friend to the students — a friend many will never forget. In his work supervising students he strives to make each individual feel at home. A man truly dedicated to traditional Christian values, he sets an example for all Sacred Heart University students to emulate.

John Croffy has been a participant in many award ceremonies over the past years, but this afternoon it is his turn to be recognized for his outstanding service to education and social concerns. Sacred Heart University is extremely proud to confer the highly coveted Walter W. Curtis Medal of Honor upon a man we love and cherish...

John A. Croffy

Sacred Heart University Fifteen Year Service Award Recipients

The Sacred Heart University Service Award is presented to those faculty and staff members of the institution who have completed a fifteen year term.

The award is presented every other year at the Founder's Day

Celebration.

- Mr. Clark D. Young, Adjunct Professor, Business Administration - January 18, 1971
- Mr. Anthony Centopanti, Superintendent of Buildings and Grounds April 12, 1971
- Attorney Joan I. Farcus, Adjunct Professor, Legal Assistant Program - June 21, 1971
- Mr. George F. R. Miller, Professor, Business Administration - September 9, 1971
- Dr. Charles L. Vazquez, Adjunct Associate Professor, Biology - September 13, 1971

Previous Recipients Walter W. Curtis Medal of Honor

Bishop Walter W. Curtis	1967
Dr. William H. Conley	1971
Mr. Herbert C. Clish	1972
Mr. Maurice O'Sullivan	1976
Dr. Anthony V. Pinciaro	1982
Mr. James R. Kerr	1984
Mr. Robert A. Kidera	1985
Mrs. Muriel T. Small	1985
Dr. Donald H. McGannon	1985
Dr. Evelyn McIntyre Conley	1985

Exxon Grant Awards

The University gratefully acknowledges the generous gift of \$25,000 from the Exxon Education Foundation, to be awarded to members of the Sacred Heart University family for outstanding performance and excellence in service.

1986 Recipients

Dean Douglas Bohn Dr. Donald Coonley Mrs. Mary Evanish Dr. Sidney Gottlieb Mr. Jonathan Koehm Mrs. Joyce Maher Dr. Lucjan Orlowski

Past Recipients

1985

Mr. Michael Bozzone Dr. Nicole Cauvin & Sociology Department Ms. Sharda Cherwoo Dr. Ralph Corrigan Ms. Adrienne Couture Dr. Ramzi Frangul Dr. Gary Rose Mrs. Carol Schofield

1984

Ms. Chris D'Arcangelo
Dr. Betty Daror
Dr. Babu George
Mr. Brian Hamilton
Dr. John Jalbert
Mr. Robert Kelly
Ms. Susan Maddox
Dr. Lucille McEachern
Mr. A. Michalewicz
Mr. Fernando Palmieri
Ms. Betty Pinder
The Hon. Thom Serrani

Dr. Maria Torreira Mr. Albert Wakin Mr. Raymond Wilson

