PROGRAM

for

THE 24TH ANNUAL FOUNDER'S DAY CELEBRATION



Sacred Heart University Fairfield, Connecticut

March 24, 1987

Opening

Mr. John J. Kelly Vice President for Business Administration & Treasurer

Invocation

Father William F. Sangiovanni Director, Chaplains and Campus Ministry

Greetings

Dr. Robert A. Preston President, Sacred Heart University

Special Recognition Award

Mrs. Violet Nobrega
Director of Food Services, University Dining Room
Dr. Robert A. Preston

Citation and Presentation of The Walter W. Curtis Award

Mr. Douglas J. Bohn Acting Academic Vice President

Ceremony of Conferral
The Most Reverend Walter W. Curtis, STD
Bishop of Bridgeport

Transmittal of Citation

Mr. Mark Gless President, Student Government

Remarks

Dr. Mercedes de Arango Trustee Emerita, Sacred Heart University

Annual Dr. William H. Conley Lecture

The Reverend David A. Boileau, Ph.D. Director of Human Services International Brotherhood of Teamsters

Benediction

The Most Reverend Walter W. Curtis, STD

Closing Mr. John J. Kelly

Music by the SHU-String Music Program Faculty Quartet

CITATION

DR. MERCEDES de ARANGO has dedicated her life to the field of higher education through teaching, scholarship and community service.

She is a Professor Emerita of Spanish at Manhattanville College in Purchase, N.Y., Trustee Emerita of Sacred Heart University and holds emeritus membership in the American Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese.

Dr. de Arango holds a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Modern Romance Languages from Manhattanville College, a Master of Arts Degree in Spanish from Columbia University, and a Doctorado en Filosofia y Letras from the Universidad Central de Madrid, Spain.

Her name appears in the Spanish Social Register as Dona Mercedes de Arango y del Valle, Marquesa de la Gratitud. She has held her title since May, 1963. She is a direct descendent of the world-renown Cuban Economist, Don Francisco de Arango y Parreño, who more than a century ago presented to the Spanish Crown a plan for the development of Cuba. The then Queen, Isabella II, created the title and bestowed it upon Don Francisco in gratitude for his visionary development plan.

Dr. de Arango taught Spanish at Manhattanville College for 39 years and served as chairperson of the department for nearly three decades. Esteemed for her scholarship and cultural values, she has served the Church as a tireless worker in her home parish of St. Mary's in Greenwich and as a member of the Bridgeport Diocesan

Council of Catholic Women.

In her academic and scholarly attainments and in her years of service to the civic, ecclesiastical and educational communities, Dr. de Arango exemplifies in her life and work the excellence and high ideals of the Founders of Sacred Heart University and is thus designated the recipient of the Walter W. Curtis Award for 1987.

Mercedes de Arango, Marquesa de la Gratitud

Sacred Heart University was founded in March 1963 by the Most Reverend Walter W. Curtis. His vision was to form an institution of higher learning for people of every race, creed, handicap, national or ethnic origin. Thanks to this vision, today, 24 years after receiving its charter, Sacred Heart University is a thriving institution deeply rooted in the community it serves.

Previous Recipients Walter W. Curtis Award

Bishop Walter W. Curtis	1967
Dr. William H. Conley	1971
Mr. Herbert C. Clish	1972
Mr. Maurice O'Sullivan	1976
Dr. Anthony V. Pinciaro	1982
Mr. James R. Kerr	1984
Mr. Robert A. Kidera	1985
Mrs. Muriel T. Small	1985
Dr. Donald H. McGannon	1985
Dr. Evelyn McIntyre Conley	1985
Mr. John A. Croffy	1986

Sacred Heart University Difteen Year Service Award Recipients

The Sacred Heart University Service Award is presented to those faculty and staff members of the institution who have completed a fifteen year term. The award is presented every other year.

- <u>Dr. Roberta L. Staples</u>, Associate Professor, English -January 1972
- Mrs. Monica A. Roberts, Audio Visual Specialist -May 1972
- <u>Mr. Michael J. Valovcin,</u> Adjunct Associate Professor, English - July 1972
- Mr. Alvin J. Clinkscales, Assistant Vice President for Enrollment Management - September 1972
- <u>Dr. Christina J. Jaylor</u>, Associate Professor,
 Psychology September 1972
- <u>Dr. Rosemary Green</u>, Associate Professor, Biology -November 1972
- <u>Camille P. Reale</u>, Professor, Office Administration -January 1973
- Mr. Prancis E. Hutvagner, Controller July 1973
- Dr. William J. Gnewuch, Associate Professor, Biology - September 1973
- Dr. Christ J. Verses, Associate Professor, Biology -September 1973
- <u>Dr. Donald E. Coonley</u>, Professor, Media Studies -September 1973
- Dr. Grant Walker, Associate Professor, Sociology -September 1973

<u>Previous Recipients</u> Walter W. Curtis Award

The Most Reverend Walter W. Curtis, S.J.D.	1967
Dr. William H. Conley	1971
Mr. Herbert C. Clish	1972
Mr. Maurice J. O'Sullivan	1976
Dr. Anthony V. Pinciaro	1982
Mr. James R. Kerr	1984
Mr. Robert A. Kidera	1985
Mrs. Muriel T. Small	1985
Dr. Donald H. McGannon	1985
Dr. Evelyn McIntyre Conley	1985
Mr. John A. Croffy	1986
Dr. Mercedes de Arango	1087